Peter gent’s Blog

welcome to wordpress

Posted in Uncategorized by petegent on February 23, 2009

So without further ado I’ve moved from squarespace to wordpress. What were the main reasons?

Mainly the astronomical costs – I was paying £11 per month for the advanced package just so I could have full control over the design elements. Pretty ludicrous when I only top 5 unique visitors a week (or a month).

Hmm.. I should probably work on updating the blog a bit more often though.

Ciao

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Em said, on February 28, 2009 at 8:09 pm

    Curious about your experience migrating from SS to WP. Was it difficult? I’m contemplating the move myself however I notice that SS is not a supported import-from platform (unless of course I just glossed over it). Would love some insight as to your experience.

  2. petegent said, on February 28, 2009 at 11:25 pm

    It was pretty much a cinch to migrate away from squarespace.

    I just exported everything from the blogs component view (the square thing, over my blog) and imported it with the wordpress gears thing.

    The only problem is the data stored and hosted on their website (the images etc). But oh well, I’ll just have to re-upload stuff where possible or forget it. No biggie

    Hope that helps.


Leave a Reply

